

## **Agenda**

Meeting: Thirsk and Malton Area Constituency

**Committee** 

Venue: Ryedale Indoor Bowls Club, Scarborough

Road, Norton, YO17 8EG

Date: Wednesday 3 July 2019 @ 10am

## **Business**

Recording is allowed at County Council, committee and sub-committee meetings which are open to the public, please give due regard to the Council's protocol on audio/visual recording and photography at public meetings, a copy of which is available to download below. Anyone wishing to record is asked to contact, prior to the start of the meeting, the Officer whose details are at the foot of the first page of the Agenda. We ask that any recording is clearly visible to anyone at the meeting and that it is non-disruptive. <a href="http://democracy.northyorks.gov.uk/">http://democracy.northyorks.gov.uk/</a>

- 1. Appointment of Chairman
- 2. Welcome by the Chairman Introductions, Apologies and Updates
- 3. Minutes of the meeting held 13 March 2019

(Pages 5 to 12)

- 4. Appointment of Vice Chairman
- 5. Apologies & Declarations of Interest
- 6. Public Questions or Statements

Members of the public may ask questions or make statements at this meeting if they have given notice and provided the text to Melanie Carr of Democratic Services *(contact details below)* no later than midday on Friday 28 June 2019. Each speaker should limit themselves to 3 minutes on any item. Members of the public who have given notice will be invited to speak:

- at this point in the meeting if their questions/statements relate to matters which are not otherwise on the Agenda (subject to an overall time limit of 30 minutes);
- when the relevant Agenda item is being considered if they wish to speak on a matter which is on the Agenda for this meeting.

If you are exercising your right to speak at this meeting, but do not wish to be recorded, please inform the Chairman who will instruct those taking a recording to cease whilst you speak.

7. **Rural Policing** – Presentation by North Yorkshire Police

(Pages 13 to 16)

Purpose: To provide an insight into the work of the Rural Policing Team across the Constituency Area.

**8. Update on the Experimental 7.5T Weight Restriction – Norton Level Crossing** - Report of NYCC Area Highways Manager

(Pages 17 to 22)

Purpose of report: To assess the implementation of the changes in Home to School transport Policy and its impact, and feed in local concerns to a county wide scrutiny being undertaken by Transport, Economy & Environment Overview & Scrutiny Committee.

9. HGV Overnight Parking - Report of NYCC Traffic Engineering Team Leader

(Pages 23 to 24)

Purpose of report: To present a summary of the current and potential impacts of overnight parking by HGVs on the highway network and surrounding environment and considers the development of a county strategy to address this increasing problem.

**10. Schools, Educational Achievement & Finance** - Report of the following officers from the Children and Young People's Services Directorate: Strategic Planning Manager, AD – Strategic Resources and AD – Inclusion (Pages 25 to 38)

Purpose of Report: To provide an overview of the local educational landscape, educational achievement and the financial challenges affecting schools in the Thirsk & Malton constituency area.

11. Thirsk and Malton Area Constituency Committee Work Programme for 2019/20 – Report of the Assistant Chief Executive (Legal and Democratic Services)

(Pages 39 to 42)

Purpose of report: To provide a Work Programme for 2019/20 for the Area Constituency Committee to consider, develop and adopt.

12. Other business which the Chairman agrees should be considered as a matter of urgency because of special circumstances.

Barry Khan Assistant Chief Executive (Legal and Democratic Services) County Hall Northallerton 25 June 2019

## THIRSK AND MALTON AREA CONSTITUENCY COMMITTEE

## Membership

County Councillors (12)				
	Councillors Name		Political Group	Electoral Division
1	ARNOLD, Val		Conservative	Kirkbymoorside
2	BAKER, Robert		Conservative	Sowerby
3	BURR, Lindsay MBE		NY Independents	Malton
4	DADD, Gareth		Conservative	Thirsk
5	DUNCAN, Keane		Conservative	Norton
6	GOODRICK, Caroline		Conservative	Hovingham and Sheriff Hutton
7	PATMORE, Caroline		Conservative	Stillington
8	SANDERSON, Janet		Conservative	Thornton Dale and The Wolds
9	SOWRAY, Peter		Conservative	Easingwold
10	SWIERS, Helen		Conservative	Filey
11	SWIERS, Roberta		Conservative	Hertford and Cayton
12	WHITE, Greg		Conservative	Pickering
Mer	mbers other than County Councillors – ( )			
	Name of Member		Representation	
1				
2				
3				
4				
5				
6				
7				
8				
9				
Total Membership – ( )			rum – (3)	



